The below list of books are linked to Amazon.com for title summaries and reviews. Many of these titles can be borrowed through inter library loan or through local public libraries.
A Clinician's Guide to Gender-Affirming Care by
Transgender and gender nonconforming (TNGC) clients have complex mental health concerns, and are more likely than ever to seek out treatment. This comprehensive resource outlines the latest research and recommendations to provide you with the requisite knowledge, skills, and awareness to treat TNGC clients with competent and affirming care. As you know, TNGC clients have different needs based on who they are in relation to the world. Written by three psychologists who specialize in working with the TGNC population, this important book draws on the perspective that there is no one-size-fits-all approach for working with TNGC clients. It offers interventions tailored to developmental stages and situational factors--for example, cultural intersections such as race, class, and religion. This book provides up-to-date information on language, etiquette, and appropriate communication and conduct in treating TGNC clients, and discusses the history, cultural context, and ethical and legal issues that can arise in working with gender-diverse individuals in a clinical setting. You'll also find information about informed consent approaches that call for a shift in the role of the mental health provider in the position of assessment and referral for the purposes of gender-affirming medical care (such as hormones, surgery, and other procedures). As changes in recent transgender health care and insurance coverage have provided increased access for a broader range of consumers, it is essential to understand transgender and gender nonconforming clients' different needs. This book provides practical exercises and skills you can use to help TNGC clients thrive.
The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health by
This new 2nd edition of The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health reflects clinical and social changes since the publication of the first edition. Written by leading experts in the field of LGBT health in conjunction with The Fenway Institute at Fenway Health, one of the most trusted and respected community-based research, education, and care centers, this edition continues to present the important issues facing patients and practitioners, including: Principles for taking an LGBT-inclusive health history Caring for LGBTQ youth, families, and older adults Behavioral Health Care: coming out, intimate partner violence, drug, alcohol, and tobacco use Understanding health care needs of transgender people Development of gender identity in children and adolescents Sexual health and HIV prevention Policy and legal issues The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, Second Edition is a must-have resource for clinicians, students, and researchers working in hospitals, clinics, universities, libraries, and private practices in every community.
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health by
This comprehensive review is the first handbook on LGBT physical and mental health created by the world's oldest and largest association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health care professionals. Recent years have seen a flood of high quality research related to the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and families. The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health is the first comprehensive resource to gather that knowledge in one place in the service of vital information needs. Both accurate and easy to understand, the two-volume handbook addresses physical, mental, and emotional health, as well as policy decisions affecting the LGBT community from youth through old age. Volume One is devoted to overall health of the population and preventive care, while Volume Two examines disease management. Entries discuss concerns as diverse as HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, domestic violence, depression, heart health, policy and advocacy, and research. The clear but detailed articles in this groundbreaking work will help readers cut through the noise and controversy surrounding scientific advances to make informed choices about their health and well-being. * Includes issues of physical, emotional, and sexual health, as well as prevention of disorders * An appendix of organizations that may serve as sources for more information or assistance
It Gets Better by
Every story can change a life. Growing up isn't easy. Many young people face daily tormenting and bullying, and this is especially true for LGBT kids and teens. In response to a number of tragic suicides by LGBT students, syndicated columnist and author Dan Savage uploaded a video to YouTube with his partner, Terry Miller. Speaking openly about the bullying they suffered, and how they both went on to lead rewarding adult lives, their video launched the It Gets Better Project YouTube channel and initiated a worldwide phenomenon. It Gets Betteris a collection of original essays and expanded testimonials written to teens from celebrities, political leaders, and everyday people, because while many LGBT teens can't see a positive future for themselves, we can.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare by
Written by experienced clinicians and edited by Vanderbilt Program for LGBTI Health faculty, this book contains up-to-date expertise from physicians renowned for their work in LGBT health. This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice. Beginning with a short review of LGBT populations and health disparities, it largely focuses on the application and implementation of LGBT best practices within all realms of medical care. In addition, the book offers recommendations for the integration of LGBT health into systems-based practice by addressing intake forms and electronic health records, as well as evidence-based emerging concerns in LGBT health. This is a must-have volume for medical students, residents, and practicing physicians from all medical specialties.
Lgbt Health by
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
LGBTQ Cultures by
Winner of the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Community/Public Health category. Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated GBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge . . . NEW and updated content includes references to case studies, discussion aids, links to videos, and action steps Explains basic concepts and terminology r elated to sexual orientation and gender identity--what constitutes culturally appropriate care and its importance for nurses Offers up-to-date statistics on healthcare refusal rates, prominent LGBTQ health issues, and social, psychological, and environmental factors affecting LGBTQ health and healthcare Specific information on LGBTQ populations that helps nurses improve quality of care, care decisions, and referrals Essential classroom and clinical guide-- illuminates LGBTQ healthcare needs for all professional healthcare schools and all practice settings--hospitals, clinics, residential programs, private practices, public health policy settings, and more Ideal best practices guide for all nurse clinicians, nurse educators, community health workers, and policy-makers Delineates the needs of different LGBTQ communities, cultures, and populationsTopics include: Diversity issues Developmental issues LGBTQ families Structural changes that need to occur in healthcare systems to create culturally sensitive services Substance abuse issues Mental health issues Risk behaviors, chronic disorders, and serious illnesses Studies and resources for improving inclusion in practice and curricula Structural barriers to quality care--making healthcare settings inclusive Individual, institutional, community, and societal calls to action About the Authors Michele J. Eliason, PhD, is Assistant Dean of the College of Health and Social Sciences at San Francisco State University in San Francisco, California. Peggy L. Chinn, RN, PhD, FAAN, is Professor Emerita of Nursing at the University of Connecticut and the Editor of Advances in Nursing Science . TE: Replace this text with the Full Description. Do not forget to check the Release to Eloquence box in the upper right hand corner
LGBTQ Health Research by
Over the last 30 years, the health needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer Americans have become increasingly recognized, in particular for the ways in which they are distinct from those typically assessed and addressed in society. Universities and researchers are paying greater attention to LGBTQ public health issues and how they might adapt existing methods to research marginalized communities, but--until now--there has been no authoritative resource to guide their education or practice. Developed for graduate students in public health and health sciences--but perfect for anyone interested in this topic--this book will fill that gap and provide the necessary public health tools to teach about and study LGBTQ populations effectively. Divided into three sections and edited by top scholars, LGBTQ Health Research explains research methods important to descriptive epidemiology that are needed to document health disparities among LGBTQ populations. The book also examines research methods that help explain the driving forces of these disparities. Focusing on real-world experience in developing and testing interventions to mitigate health disparities in LGBTQ populations, it also breaks down issues that challenge the direct application of standard research methods with these communities, including those related to sampling, measurement, choice of theoretical variables to explain the distribution of health and illness, cultural competence in intervention design, and community participation. Promoting the creation and diffusion of effective interventions, the book takes a holistic approach to address longstanding research gaps regarding important marginalized communities. It also documents profound health disparities in many LBGTQ populations across a wide range of health conditions and explains why future development of the field must be based on inclusive science and rigorous research methods. LGBTQ Health Research is an essential textbook for any courses that deal with the intersection of marginalization, health, sexuality, and gender. Contributors: José A. Bauermeister, Chris Beyrer, Kerith Conron, Brian Dodge, Rita Dwan, Stephen L. Forssell, Peter Gamache, Gary W. Harper, Mark L. Hatzenbuehler, Colleen Hoff, Carl Latkin, Ilan H. Meyer, Robin Lin Miller, Angulique Y. Outlaw, Christopher Owens, Tonia Poteat, Erin Riley, Joshua Rosenberger, Ayden I. Scheim, Shauna Stahlman, Randall Sell, Ron Stall, Rob Stephenson, Rachel Strecher, Ryan C. Tingler, Karin E. Tobin, Ronald O. Valdiserri, and Richard J. Wolitski
Out Spoken by
How is identity formed? If you were born in Canada, that makes you Canadian; if you were raised Jewish, that makes you a Jew, right? But what about a teenage boy from small town Saskatchewan who has a secret crush on the guy who sits next to him in homeroom? What does that make him? And how would his identity change if he grew up to become an out-of-the-closet gay man? In Out Spoken: Perspectives on Queer Identities questions like these are addressed by an eclectic range of authors in disciplines that range from sociology and education to cultural studies and literature--as well as playwrights, artists and writers--to reveal the fluid and sometimes confounding nature of identity when sexuality is part of the mix. "Outspoken marks the coming-of-age of queer studies in Canada, covering topics from the analysis of literary classics to the history of sexology to hands-on community work. The range and quality of its contents will be a welcome addition for scholars and an inspiration to younger LGBTQ people." Ross Higgins, Concordia University and UQAM; author of Peter Flinsch and De la clandestinité à l'affirmation.
Transgender Voices by
Based on 150 in-depth interviews, this text brings together the voices of sex- and gender-diverse people who speak with absolute candor about their lives.
