Search for Research Articles, Systematic Reviews, & More
Tip: For full-text access to articles outside of Roseman subscriptions, use Interlibrary Loan.
Database List
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary biomedical research database. Includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch engine for scholarly literature across many disciplines
- Ovid This link opens in a new windowPlatform to search MEDLINE, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts and more with one search.
- Find Journals by Title This link opens in a new windowAll journals subscribed to by Roseman. Search by title (e.g. Lancet)
- Clinical Trials This link opens in a new windowClinical trial registry for the US and global research
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPharmacy focused collection of articles and conference abstracts
- SciFinderChemistry, drug discovery, engineering, and more.
Log in with an existing account
Create a new account
You must be on campus to register. Use your Roseman email address.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowBroad science database with conference proceedings and citation/reference reports.
Evaluate Research Articles
The Hierarchy of Evidence is a common tool in Evidence Based Medicine to help you recognize the risk of bias in a research article based on the research design and methodology used. It helps you identify a research method with less risk of bias (at the top), but you must use it carefully!
Poor execution of a research type at the top of the pyramid is often just as bad or worse than excellent execution of a research type from the bottom of the pyramid.
Learn the basics of critical appraisal so you can recognize poor execution and quality of ALL types of research.
| Evidence Type | Quick Resource Guide |
|---|---|
| Systematic Reviews or Meta-Analysis | Cochrane, Ovid, PubMed |
| Critically-Appraised Topics, Evidence-Based Guidelines, Clinical Evidence | TRIP, Clinical Guidelines |
| Critically-Appraised Articles | ACP Journal Club, many journal titled "Evidence-based..." |
| Randomized Controlled Trials | Ovid, PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Cohort Studies | Ovid, PubMed |
| Case-Controlled Studies, Case Series / Reports | Ovid, PubMed |
| Background Information / Expert Opinion | Books & e-books, editorials, reference materials |
Image credit: Evidence-Based Practice in Health. University of Canberra Library.
Critical Appraisal Tools
Critical appraisal tools are checklists that can help you focus on the important aspects of the research article.
Some tools come with detailed guides on how to appraise specific types of research articles.
Find one that matches the research methodology in the article you are appraising (clinical trial, cohort study, case-series, etc.).
- Critical Appraisals Skills Programme (CASP) ChecklistsCritical appraisal checklists that can be used as tools to help you appraise Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative Studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
- JBI Critical Appraisal ToolsWide variety (cohort, case series, cross sectional, RCT, etc.) of downloadable guides for assessing the trustworthiness, relevance and results of published papers from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
- AMSTAR 2: A Critical Appraisal Tool for Systematic ReviewsThis critical appraisal tool is designed for systematic reviews that include randomized, non-randomized studies, or both.
Explanations for how to apply the checklist.
Videos on Article Statistics
Research Help Quick Links
- Access Library Resources - Access tips for full-text on and off campus.
- Cite & Write - Paper formatting, reference citation examples and grammar guidelines.
- Meet with a Librarian - Schedule a meeting time with a librarian.
- Search the Literature - Develop an effective search strategy to find the information you need quickly.
- Search PubMed - Search PubMed effectively.
- Use EndNote - Save citations and prepare your references with EndNote
- Prepare for Journal Club - Evaluate and present an article for Journal Club.
- Interlibrary Loan - Get articles that are not in our collection by email in 1-5 business days.
Learn through the Library
Contact Us
Phone, Henderson: 702-968-2040