Topical Question Categories
Many resources exist to answer your drug information questions. Categorizing your ultimate question will narrow down which resources will be most helpful to you.
Below are suggested resources for each DI question category. Familiarize yourself with the layouts of these resources to locate necessary information quickly.
General, Product-Related
Drug Databases
(Provided by Roseman University Library)
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Package Insert
- DailyMedDrug listings and full label information (package inserts) from the FDA.
Adverse Effects
Medical Quick Reference
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Administration, drug
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Antimicrobial Therapy
The Sanford guide to antimicrobial therapy 2021, 51st ed by Call Number: Print edition in Library: QV 250 S224 2021ISBN: 9781944272180Publication Date: 2021
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Bioequivalence
(free option)
- Orange Book FDAApproved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations. The products approved under section 505 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
Calculators (pharmaceutical; medical)
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Medical Quick Reference
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
Free Options
- MDCalcMedical calculations. Also available as an app.
Clinical Trials, Investigational Drugs
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical trial registry and clinical answers tools.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine and life sciences journal articles from MEDLINE and PubMed Central.
Set up a personal NCBI account to set alerts and collections of results. - Clinical Trials This link opens in a new windowClinical trial registry for the US and global research.
Comparative Tables
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps.
Contraindications
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Compounding
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations by Call Number: QV 735 T837 2018ISBN: 9781582122960Publication Date: 2018-01-31
- USP-NF United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary
An e-book of public pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. Create a free account for access.
Log in with an existing account
Register for a USP account
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: QV 738.FA1 M384 2020ISBN: 9780857113672Publication Date: 2020
Cost
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Free Option
- GoodRx
GoodRx is a free mobile app and website that helps Americans find the lowest prescription prices in their neighborhood.
Dietary/Herbal Supplements
- NatMed This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based summaries on alternative and complementary medicine including foods, herbs, supplements, brands and manufacturers, interaction checker and pregnancy and lactation information.
Free Options
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseDietary supplement labels with product information, ingredients, and manufacturing.
- FDA Dietary SupplementsFrom the Food section of the FDA website, find updates, consumer information, or report a problem with dietary supplements.
Diseases, Diagnosis
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
(DiPiro's) Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Edition by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: WB 330 P535 2023ISBN: 9781264264544Publication Date: 2023
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st Ed by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: WB 115 H322 2022ISBN: 9781264268504Publication Date: 2022
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books, journal articles, drug information, disease and skill overviews, videos, and practice guidelines.
Free Option
- Merck Manual Professional AppVisit your preferred app store for the Merck Manual Professional App. Provides health care practitioners and students with clear, practical explanations for thousands of conditions in all major medical and surgical specialties. It covers etiology, pathophysiology, and options for evaluation and treatment. Free.
Dosage
Drug Databases
See the Clinical Practice Guidelines sections:
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Free Option
- DailyMedDrug listings and full label information (package inserts) from the FDA.
Drug Identification
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Free Option
- Drugs.com Pill Identifier
Read the terms and accept them to use this site.
Drug Interactions
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Foreign/International Drugs
Free Options
- Drugs.com InternationalThe Drugs.com international drug name database contains information about medications found in 185 countries around the world. The database contains more than 40,000 medication names marketed outside the USA and is presented in multiple languages.
- Canadian Drug Product Database
Search the Drug Product Database (DPD) to find drugs authorized for sale by Health Canada. The DPD is updated nightly and includes:availability of the drug in Canada, product monographs for human drugs, and labels for animal drugs. - European Medicines Agency
Search the medicine finder to find information on medicines authorised for human or veterinary use. You can find these by including the medicine's name or its active substance. - WHO International Pharmacopoeia
The International Pharmacopoeia is comprised of a collection of recommended procedures for analysis and specifications for the determination of “pharmaceutical substances” (active pharmaceutical ingredients), excipients and “dosage forms” (general texts and individual finished pharmaceutical products) that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any World Health Organization (WHO) Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements.
Immunization Schedules
Free Options
- CDC Vaccine Schedules
Make sure your patients stay up to date on recommended vaccines using these schedules. - CDC Vaccine Schedules App for Health Care ProvidersCDC app to identify correct vaccine, dosage, and timing with just 2 or 3 clicks.
IV Compatibility
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
ASHP Injectable Drug Information 2023 by Call Number: QV 737.1 A819 2023ISBN: 9781585286836Publication Date: 2022-11-30
Nonprescription/Over-the-Counter Products
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Patient Counseling/Education
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Free Options
- MedlinePlus
Free. Consumer health database, including drugs, supplements, and herbal information as well as a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, health tutorials and more. Available in Spanish.
Pharmacokinetics
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Pharmacotherapeutics
(see also Therapeutics)
- (DiPiro's) Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, 12th Edition by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: WB 330 P535 2023ISBN: 9781264264544Publication Date: 2023
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: QV 4 G653 2022ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: QV 4 B311 2020ISBN: 9781260463309Publication Date: 2023
Pharmacy/Medical News
- Pharmaceutical News Index This link opens in a new windowPharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. News and journal articles from pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.
Free Options
- Pharmacy Times
Publication providing clinical information and continuing education for pharmacists. Create a free account to access most content.
Subscription ($$)
Seek funding from internships and employers for access to these resources.
- Prescriber Insights
Prescriber Insights (formerly Prescriber's Letter) is the fastest, most trustworthy way to find out how drug therapy changes should fit into your practice, all while earning monthly CME credit. It's 100% free from financial support of the pharma industry.
Pregnancy/Lactation
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: WQ 39 D794 2021ISBN: 9781975162375Publication Date: 2021
- UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Free Option
- LactMed
Reference source for drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
Therapeutics
(See also Pharmacotherapeutics)
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
Condition-Specific
Search for Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Locate Clinical Practice Guidelines - Pharmacy Program GuideResources and databases to find, use, and apply clinical information
Toxicology/Poisoning
- LiverTox
LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. - Consumer Product Information Database
Consumer and household products, including ingredients, potential health effects, safe handling and disposal.
Drug Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information. - Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Drug monographs, drug prices (Red Book), interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information Pharmacy Mobile Apps. - UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Student discounts on Lexicomp Handheld.
Contact Us
Phone, Henderson: 702-968-2040