Getting Started
Research design is your plan for answering your research question, including the purpose, aim, data collection methods, data management, data analysis, and more.
Research methods is the specific strategy you will implement to implement the data collection, including the sample, time frame, collection process, and more.
Either way, you must start with a research question. The research question and your reason for asking that question (your research goal) is ultimately what helps you lay out your plan and select your methods.
- VIDEO: What is Research Design?An overview (6:03 min) of the relationship of research design and research methods.
- Research Methods and Statisics - University of AmsterdamPlaylists of short videos covering research methods, basic statistics, quantitative statistics, qualitative statistics, and inferential statistics.
Research Methods
There are many ways to classify research approaches. At the broadest level there is:
Qualitative:
Gathers data about people's experiences, perceptions, emotions, behaviors and the meanings that people attach to them. The questions and procedures often emerge from the research situation and process, with data analysis inductively building themes that the researcher uses to propose a theory.
Quantitative:
A deductive approach for testing theories (using hypotheses) through an examination of the relationship between variables. Variables are operationalized (made measurable) so that numeric data can be statistically evaluated.
Mixed-Methods:
An approach that involves collecting both qualitative and quantitative data and integrating both in the resulting analysis.
Each of these approaches involved using different data collection techniques including surveys, interviews, observation, document analysis, and experiments.
Check Yourself
- Do your methods fit the research question(s)?
- Do you know how to use the method(s)? If not, can you learn how to use the method(s) (do you have the time, resources, support necessary)?
- Do you have the resources you need to use the methods (or the funding to obtain the resources)? For example:
- access to the sample population
- statistical software
- qualitative data analysis software
- an adequate computer
- lab equipment
- access to secondary data sets
- audio-visual equipment
- language training
- transport
- time (and people) to complete the methods correctly
Data Analysis: Library Books
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
Call Number: WA 950 B311 2020ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2019-10-04
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
With an exciting new look, math diagnostic tool, and a research roadmap to navigate projects, this new edition of Andy Field's award-winning text offers a unique combination of humor and step-by-step instruction to make learning statistics compelling and accessible to even the most anxious of students. The Fifth Edition takes students from initial theory to regression, factor analysis, and multilevel modeling, fully incorporating IBM SPSS Statistics© version 25 and fascinating examples throughout.
Call Number: HA32 .F54 2018ISBN: 9781526436566Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Call Number: eBook OnlyISBN: 9780323642019Publication Date: 2020-01-29
A Practical Approach to Analyzing Healthcare Data by
A Practical Approach to Analyzing Healthcare Data, Third Edition, offers guidance to healthcare professionals and health information management (HIM) students on how to best analyze, categorize, and manage the data that they encounter in an industry becoming ever more dependent on these tasks. With expanded and reorganized content on statistical analysis techniques, and new content on value-based purchasing (VBP) analytics and risk adjustment, this text applies broader principles of data evaluation specifically to the field of HIM. Updated and augmented online resources give professionals and students access to actual data sets and data analysis tools to use in their studies, and an Analysis in Practice section added to each chapter facilitates hands-on experience working with data.
Call Number: WA950 P912 2015ISBN: 9781584265276Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Qualitative Data Analysis by
Miles, Huberman, and Saldaña's Qualitative Data Analysis: A Methods Sourcebook is the authoritative text for analyzing and displaying qualitative research data. The Fourth Edition maintains the analytic rigor of previous editions while showcasing a variety of new visual display models for qualitative inquiry. Graphics are added to the now-classic matrix and network illustrations of the original co-authors. Five chapters have been substantially revised, and the appendix's annotated bibliography includes new titles in research methods. Graduate students and established scholars from all disciplines will find this resource an innovative compendium of ideas for the representation and presentation of qualitative data. As the authors demonstrate, when researchers "think display," their analyses of social life capture the complex and vivid processes of the people and institutions studied.
Call Number: H 62 M437 2020ISBN: 9781506353074Publication Date: 2019-01-22
SPSS Statistics for Dummies by
The fun and friendly guide to mastering IBM's Statistical Package for the Social Sciences Written by an author team with a combined 55 years of experience using SPSS, this updated guide takes the guesswork out of the subject and helps you get the most out of using the leader in predictive analysis. Covering the latest release and updates to SPSS 27.0, and including more than 150 pages of basic statistical theory, it helps you understand the mechanics behind the calculations, perform predictive analysis, produce informative graphs, and more. You'll even dabble in programming as you expand SPSS functionality to suit your specific needs. Master the fundamental mechanics of SPSS Learn how to get data into and out of the program Graph and analyze your data more accurately and efficiently Program SPSS with Command Syntax Get ready to start handling data like a pro--with step-by-step instruction and expert advice!
Call Number: HA 32 S161 2020ISBN: 9781119560838Publication Date: 2020-09-09
Research Methods: Library Books
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.
Call Number: W 20.5 J15i 2021ISBN: 9781284197563Publication Date: 2020-02-20
Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, Second Edition by
Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, Second Edition is a unique resource that provides a balanced approach covering critical elements of clinical research, biostatistical principles, and scientific literature evaluation techniques for evidence-based medicine. It is the ideal foundation for professional pharmacy students and a key resource for pharmacy residents, research fellows, practitioners, and clinical researchers.
Call Number: QV 20.5 P957 2020ISBN: 9781260441789Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Research Design by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods.
Call Number: H 62 C74 2018ISBN: 9781506386706Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students and now shortlisted for the British Book Design and Production Awards 2019! Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Call Number: H 62 K84 2019ISBN: 9781526449900Publication Date: 2019-02-11
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: a Quick Reference Guide by
Concise, readable, and easy to navigate--a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research Whether you're a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests.
You'll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers: Planning a research study Writing a dissertation Types of studies in clinical research Observational and interventional studies Approaches to qualitative research Ethics in medical research Biostatistics and descriptive statistics Approaches to statistical inference
Call Number: eBook onlyISBN: 9781260463286Publication Date: 2021-03-09
