Read More
Drug Information: a Guide for Pharmacists, 7th Edition by Call Number: Ebook linked & print edition in Library: QV 737.1 D793 2022ISBN: 9781260460308Publication Date: 2022
Start Here
1. Find the right information resource to use for your drug question category.
2. Use Drug Databases to:
- Get information on how to safely use individual drugs from drug monographs
- FDA drug labels provide free access to this information
- Check for interactions
- Check IV compatitbility
- Identify pills
Exercise: Compare major drug databases. How they arrange information and what information they contain will matter to you.
3. Use medical reference tools or textbooks, like DiPiro's, to:
- Review a disease or condition
- Review treatment options
4. Use Clinical Practice Guidelines to:
- Identify current therapeutic standards for specific conditions
5. Use clinical trials and other research articles to:
- Identify new treatments in development and investigational drugs
- Find research relevant to a complex or specific clinical situation or patient
- Perform background research or literature review on a topic
6. Check for mobile apps.
7. Prepare for journal club.
Drug Information Databases
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information.
- UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
- NatMed This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based information on alternative and complementary medicine
- USP-NF United States Pharmacopeia-National FormularyAn e-book of public pharmacopeial standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. Create a free account for access.
Log in with an existing account
Register for a USP account
Medical Reference Tools
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
- Merck Manual Professional Version This link opens in a new windowFree evidence summaries on disease states, treatments, labs, procedures and more including clinical pharmacology, critical care medicine, dental disorders, and procedure videos.
Mobile access information Merck Manual Mobile Apps.
Drug Information Websites
- ASHP Drug ShortagesDrug product shortages and management information from American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
- Consumer Product Information Database
Consumer and household products, including ingredients, potential health effects, safe handling and disposal.
- DailyMedDrug listings and full label information (package inserts) from the FDA.
- Dietary Supplement Label DatabaseDietary supplement labels with product information, ingredients, and manufacturing.
- Drugs.com Pill Identifier
Read the terms and accept them to use this site.
- Drugs@FDAFDA Approved Drug Products. Patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information.
- FDA Drug ShortagesCurrent and resolved drug shortages and discontinuations as reported to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
- LactMed
Reference source for drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.
- LiverToxInformation on the diagnosis, cause, and management of liver injury attributable to medications, herbals, and dietary supplements.
- The Medical LetterCritical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
- National Drug Code Directory (NDCs)The NDC maintained by the FDA serves as universal product identifier for human drugs.
- Orange Book FDAApproved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations. The products approved under section 505 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.
Patient Safety
- FDA Investigational New Drug Application (IND)Instructions for submitting an emergency IND.
- The Infection Prevention and Control Portal - The Joint ComissionStandards for processes, practices, policies, and procedures relating to infection control. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
- Institute for Safe Medication PracticesSafety alerts
Confused drug names
High alert medications
Plus guidelines, continuing education, and more.
- MedWatchFDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) - CDCThe CDC's weekly reports on public health information and recommendations.
- National Patient Safety Goals (NPSGs) - The Joint CommissionPatient safety goals for accredited institutions.The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.
Check their patent safety fact sheets for a "Do Not Use" list of abbreviations.
Patient Education Resources
Resources with patient information handouts and other consumer health information.
- 5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new windowSelect "For The Patient" > "Patient Handouts." Available in English or Spanish.
- Care Notes System This link opens in a new windowPatient education information about all aspects of patient care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new windowSelect "Patient Education." Available in multiple languages.
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug monographs, interaction checkers, IV compatibility, clinical calculators, drug ID and more.
Mobile access information.
- MedlinePlus
Free. Consumer health database, including drugs, supplements, and herbal information as well as a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, health tutorials and more. Available in Spanish.
- Merck Manual - Consumer VersionA great reference for disease states, drugs, and more in plain language.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.
Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administation (FDA) - For ConsumersConsumer information from the FDA with alerts, recalls, etc. available in both English and Spanish.
Drug Database Comparison Chart
Clinical Pharmacology |
Lexicomp |
Micromedex |
|
Beers Drug List(Medication Use in |
Three dots under “Lists” & link at top of drug monographs | Search for “beers criteria” | Search for “beers criteria” |
(Black) Box Warnings |
Three dots under “Lists” & link at top of drug monographs | Top of drug monograph | Under “Resources” and in drug monograph |
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy & Lactation |
NO - Has a pediatric monograph tab at the top of the main drug monograph | In search results list when you search for a drug & link under the "Reproduction, Pregnancy, & Lactation" section of the drug monograph | NO |
Calculators |
Under “Resources” | Top bar | Under “Other Tools” |
Do not crush/ chew list |
Under “Lists” | Search for “do not crush” | Search for “do not crush” |
Drug identifier |
Under “Resources” | On the top bar | On the top bar |
Interaction checker |
Under “Reports" | On the top bar | On the top bar |
IV compatibility |
Under “Reports" | On the top bar | On the top bar |
Mobile app |
Yes, free for Roseman students & faculty. | Not free for students. Academic discount link in database. | Yes, free for Roseman students & faculty. |
Pricing information |
NO | In drug monograph under “Preparations” | “Red Book” on top bar and as a link at the right side in drug monographs |
Pronunciation sound files |
NO | In drug monographs | NO |
REMS(Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) |
Three dots under “Lists” & link at top of drug monographs | In drug monograph | In drug monograph |
Special feature |
Link to the Harriet Lane Handbook on pediatric care and drug dosages. Three dots under "Resources." | Relevant Clinical Practice Guidelines are listed in a section just below "Uses" in the drug monograph | Drug comparison (top bar) allows for side by side viewing of multiple drug monographs at the same time |
Special feature |
TOXED - Clinical information for drug, plant, mushroom, etc. toxic exposure and overdose. Three dots under "Resources." | Multiple types of drug monographs when searching a drug including Lexi-Drugs, AHFS, Geriatric, Pediatric, Briggs, Lexi-Tox, and more. | Tox & Drug Product - drug and household product toxicology information. Click on "POISINDEX Managements" links for in depth information |
Special feature |
Drug Class Overviews. Three dots under "Resources." | Dental uses and information listed near the end of the drug monograph | Change search to "Disease" to find a brief clinical overview of the disease state |
Resources by Topical Category
Category |
Resource (Roseman licensed & free) |
|
General, Product-Related |
Drug Databases; Package Inserts (DailyMed – official FDA label database) |
|
Adverse effect |
Drug Databases; UpToDate |
|
Administration, Drug |
Drug Databases |
|
Antimicrobial Therapy |
The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy; Drug Databases |
|
Bioequivalence |
(free option) FDA Orange Book |
|
Calculators (pharmaceutical; medical) |
|
|
Clinical Trials, Investigational Drugs |
Cochrane trial registry; (free options) PubMed; Clinicaltrials.gov |
|
Comparative Tables |
|
|
Contraindications |
Drug Databases; UpToDate |
|
Compounding |
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulation; USP-NF (see above for access); Remington’s; Martindale’s |
|
Cost |
Micromedex – Red Book; LexiComp; UpToDate (via LexiComp integration); (free option) GoodRX.com |
|
Dietary/Herbal Supplements |
Natural Medicines; Drug Databases; (free options) Dietary Supplement Label Database; FDA Dietary Supplements |
|
Diseases, Diagnosis |
UpToDate; DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy; Harrison’s Internal Medicine; ClinicalKey – Clinical Overviews; (free option) Merck Manual Professional |
|
Dosage |
Drug Databases; (by condition) Clinical Practice Guidelines; (free option) DailyMed – official FDA label database |
|
Drug Identification |
Drug Databases; (free option) Drug.com |
|
Drug Interactions |
Drug Databases; |
|
Foreign/International Drugs |
(free options) Drugs.com International; Canadian Drug Product Database; European Medicines Agency; WHO International Pharmacopoeia |
|
Immunization Schedules |
(Free option) CDC Immunization Schedules – also available as an app |
|
IV Compatibility |
Drug Databases; Handbook of Injectable Drugs |
|
Nonprescription/Over-the-Counter products |
Drug Databases; Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs |
|
Patient Counseling/Education |
Drug Databases; UpToDate; (free option) MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus Spanish |
|
Pharmacokinetics |
Drug Databases |
|
Pharmacotherapeutics (see also Therapeutics) |
Applied Therapeutics; DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy; Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics; Basic & Clinical Pharmacology |
|
Pharmacy/Medical News |
Pharmaceutical News Index; (free options) Pharmacist's Letter; Prescriber's Letter; Pharmacy Times |
|
Pregnancy/Lactation |
Drugs in Pregnancy & Lactation (Briggs) – also available via LexiComp; (free option) LactMed |
|
Therapeutics (see also Pharmacotherapeutics) |
(General) UpToDate; (Condition specific) Clinical Practice Guidelines |
|
Toxicology/Poisoning |
LiverTox; Consumer Product Information Database; Drug Databases – Toxicology sections |
Get Help
Phone, Henderson: 702-968-2040