Skip to Main Content

All Roseman University campuses will close on Tuesday, November 26, at 5 pm for Fall Break. Campuses will reopen for regular
hours on Monday, December 2.

Faculty Library Resources

What is the eCommons at Roseman?

The eCommons at Roseman University is an Institutional repository with the goal of bringing together scholarly, research, and creative works of our academic community.  It highlights the quality of work that is being produced by the Roseman University of Health Sciences community.

The eCommons at Roseman provides long-term preservation, enables worldwide dissemination, and encourages the development of new projects and partnerships. All scholarly works –  journal articles (preprints, postprints, and publisher copies), book chapters, research projects, technical reports, conference papers, university publications, datasets, theses/dissertations, multimedia presentations (PowerPoint presentations, podcasts, images, video) and more - are welcome.

What Can be Submitted?

Materials

Material submitted must be scholarly/educational/research-oriented. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Articles (pre-prints and post-prints)
  • Audio files
  • Book chapters
  • Datasets
  • Conference papers and proceedings
  • Departmental publications (e.g., newsletters)
  • Dissertations and theses
  • Images
  • Lectures
  • Links to streaming audio or video hosted elsewhere
  • Open access material
  • Posters
  • Presentations
  • Student products (sponsored by a faculty member)
  • Teaching materials
  • Technical reports
  • University publications
  • Video files
  • Working papers

File Formats

The eCommons at Roseman supports the preservation of digital objects of many various formats.

It is recommended that materials be deposited in open formats for ease of user accessibility and preservation purposes. These format include but are not limited to:

  • PDF
  • HTML
  • JPEG
  • MP3
  • WMV

There is no limit on file size, but files should be reasonably sized.

Benefits of Using the eCommons at Roseman

  • Let your scholarship help create a vital portrait of the intellectual life of the University.
  • Join your professional colleagues who are contributing to institutional repositories.
  • Extend your influence and possible citation counts.
  • Expand the potential readership for your research.
  • Enhance the visibility of your contributions to your profession.
  • Utilize a free archive for your publications, making them available in an easily accessible format.
  • Have a personal faculty page in the DigitalCommons with your bibliography hyperlinked to full text articles.
  • Remove the gateways to your published research and make it easy to locate.
  • Archive your research for future generations.
  • Support your institution that supports you.

Author Copyright and the eCommons at Roseman

Do I need to hold the copyright to my work in order to submit it to the eCommons at Roseman?

In order to submit a work to the eCommons you must hold the copyright to that work or have the approval of the copyright holder to do so. If the work is also being published by a traditional publisher, you may have transferred your copyright to them as part of the publication process. In this case, the publisher may allow you to still post the work but may have certain restrictions to its posting. You need to know the copyright status of your work or your publisher’s policies before submitting it to eCommons. 

If you do retain copyright to the work, and have not given someone else exclusive rights to distribute it, you should be able to submit it to the eCommons.

If you do not retain copyright but have transferred your rights to your publisher, you may still be able to deposit a version of your paper in the eCommons at Roseman. Some publishers, for instance, only allow posting of the preprint or post print version of an article or book chapter, not the final published version. To determine your journal or publisher's policy towards submitting to an institutional repository, we recommend consulting SHERPA/RoMEO, a public database of publisher copyright policies as a starting point. Bear in mind, however, that SHERPA/RoMEO does not cover all journals or publishers, may not have the most current publisher information, and should not be relied upon as legal counsel. Please contact the Library if you have questions, or need assistance determining the copyright status of your work.

Retaining Author Rights

The best way to ensure that you can submit your works to the eCommons is to either publish open access or make sure that you retain your rights as the author. 

How do I do that?

  • Search the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) to find peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly open access journals.
  • Retain your rights as the author of a journal article by adding an author addendum to your publication agreement. The author addendum will ensure that you retain your copyright and can distribute your work as you see fit.
  • Save your preprints and post prints! Even if you publish in a traditional journal, it's likely that you'll be able to submit a non-final version of your article in an institutional repository like eCommons. 

FNP Submission Guide

1. Create an account for the eCommons at Roseman University

  • A confirmation email will be sent to the address entered; you may need to check spam folder.

2. Once your account is confirmed, submit your research by following this link

3. Read Submission Instructions and Agreement, check box and click Continue

4. Fill out submission form with all relevant information

  • An email must be entered if you would like to return to the submission and make any revisions.
  • For the Disciplines section, on the Left-hand side of options click and hit Select to add to your submission. Feel free to add any disciplines from the left-hand side that you feel apply to your submission.  If you are unable to find a discipline that applies, use the “Enter Keywords” box to add additional terms.
  • If multiple items are available to upload, please upload the Primary document first before any additional files.

5. Check email for confirmation of successful upload

 

The Library Can Also Help You With

Contact us by phone, email, or library chat.