LibGuides: RETIRED Pharmacy Program Guide: Research

Hierarchy of Evidence

Evidence Type	Quick Resource Guide
Systematic Reviews or Meta-Analysis	Cochrane, Ovid, PubMed
Critically-Appraised Topics, Evidence-Based Guidelines, Clinical Evidence	TRIP, Clinical Guidelines
Critically-Appraised Articles	ACP Journal Club, many journal titled "Evidence-based..."
Randomized Controlled Trials	Ovid, PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov
Cohort Studies	Ovid, PubMed
Case-Controlled Studies, Case Series / Reports	Ovid, PubMed
Background Information / Expert Opinion	Books & e-books, editorials, reference materials

Image credit: Evidence-Based Practice in Health. University of Canberra Library.

Research

Search Discovery to access most databases and the library book and e-book catalog in one search.

Discovery This link opens in a new window Find print books, e-books, journal articles and more from across the Roseman Library collections.

Drug Information Sources - Resources for drug information

Searching the Literature - Develop a search strategy

PubMed Search Guide - Learn to search PubMed

FAQ for Off Campus Library Access

Interlibrary Loan - Order an article or a book from another library

Licensed works are protected by copyright and use of these works is subject to restrictions and obligations contained in license agreements. Use is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff.

Journal Article Sources

Sources for clinical trails, systematic reviews, other research, and peer reviewed articles.

Visit the Clinical Guidelines page for resources on locating clinical practice guidelines.

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books, journal articles, drug information, disease and skill overviews, videos, and practice guidelines.

Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Clinical trial registry for the US and global research.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical trial registry and clinical answers tools.

Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find print books, e-books, journal articles and more from across the Roseman Library collections.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. This link allows access to full-text available in other Roseman-subscribed databases (Online @ Roseman). Search tips.

Google Scholar for Scholarly Literature Searching
A brief video on how to search Google Scholar like a pro.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Pharmaceutical and medical abstracts, journal articles and conference proceedings from around the world.

Find Journals by Title This link opens in a new window
Locate journals (e.g. Lancet and NEJM) and e-books (e.g. Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach) by title or by browsing subjects.

Ovid This link opens in a new window
Access to all OVID resources including MEDLINE, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Emcare, journals, and e-books.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine and life sciences journal articles from MEDLINE and PubMed Central.
Set up a personal NCBI account to set alerts and collections of results.

Science Direct Health Sciences Edition This link opens in a new window
Journal articles covering medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmaceutical sciences, toxicology, pharmacology and nursing.

SciFinder
Research from scientific disciplines, including chemistry, engineering, biomedical sciences, materials science, and agricultural science.
Do you already have an account? Click here and log in with your user credentials.
Do you need an account? Set up a new account Click here.
You must create an account while you are on campus and use your Roseman email address. You must activate your account by clicking on the confirmation email link to log in from off campus.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, plus conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe. Content includes access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Reference Texts and Clinical Information

Sources for physical and online textbooks, clinical tools, trade magazines, and other background information.

5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Evidence summaries of diagnosis, treatment, and management of diseases, plus drug monographs, lab tests, procedures, and patient education materials.

AccessPharmacy (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy textbooks, practice cases, drug flashcards, NAPLEX practice questions, and video lectures. Create a personal account after login for NAPLEX Study Resources.

APhA Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy textbooks, NAPLEX Review, case studies, learning exercises, and more. Create a personal account after login for NAPLEX study resources NAPLEX Review.

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Medical reference books, journal articles, drug information, disease and skill overviews, videos, and practice guidelines.

Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find print books, e-books, journal articles and more from across the Roseman Library collections.

Health Library Premium Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy and foundational science textbooks, videos on clinical skills and science concepts, and case examples.

Merck Manual Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Free evidence summaries on disease states, treatments, labs, procedures and more including clinical pharmacology, critical care medicine, dental disorders, and procedure videos.
Mobile access information Merck Manual Mobile Apps.

Pharmaceutical News Index This link opens in a new window
Pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. News and journal articles from pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.

Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.

Patient Information

Resources with patient information handouts and other consumer health information.

5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Evidence summaries of diagnosis, treatment, and management of diseases, plus drug monographs, lab tests, procedures, and patient education materials.

Care Notes System This link opens in a new window
Patient education materials on all aspects of patient care, medications, and health, in English or Spanish.

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Click on the three dots under the search bar to display the Patient Education collection. Search by keyword, filter by topic, or browse alphabetically.

Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
A drug information & medication management resource.
Check the Resources section under the search bar for the Patient Education resources.

MedlinePlus
Free. Consumer health database, including drugs, supplements, and herbal information as well as a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, health tutorials and more. Available in Spanish.

Merck Manual - Consumer Version
A great reference for disease states, drugs, and more in plain language.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence summaries for disease states, diagnostics, labs, medical calculators, guidelines, drug information and more.

Login to UpToDate using your Roseman network credentials (choose Institutional or OpenAthens sign in options from the mobile app or website). You will be prompted to register for an account the first time.

U.S. Food and Drug Administation (FDA) - For Consumers
Consumer information from the FDA with alerts, recalls, etc. available in both English and Spanish.